Commonwealth of Virginia - Executive Mansion

Designed by architect Alexander Parris in the Federal style, the mansion sits close to the site of a modest frame structure that served as the home to Virginia’s governors after the capital moved from Williamsburg to Richmond in 1780.


The mansion’s original grounds included a separate cookhouse, smokehouse, stable, ice house, carriage and cannon houses. Three of these original buildings remain today including the main house, cookhouse and the carriage house. Today, the mansion also includes private living quarters for the First Family. 

This mansion is both a Virginia and a National Historic Landmark, and has had a number of successive renovations and expansions during the 20th century.

The Mansion has hosted a wide range of dignitaries including  HRH The Prince Albert Edward, Prince of Wales (later became King Edward VII); Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II; President Rutherford B. Hayes, President Theodore Roosevelt, Winston Churchill, Charles Lindbergh and President Barack Obama.

The mansion is located within the historic gates of Capitol Square, a park-like area that includes the State Capitol building, The Bell Tower, Patrick Henry Office Building, Old City Hall, and various monuments.